The topic learning objectives and requirements are designed to assist you develop the knowledge, attitudes, and clinical skills necessary to be a competent nurse or midwife.

During your placement you may find some objectives/outcomes more difficult to achieve than others - this is a normal part of learning. Your PEP facilitator can work with you to develop strategies to achieve these objectives. Speak to your Facilitator if you have concerns.

The expected learning outcomes for each topic are listed in the Topic details booklet which can be obtained from your Topic Coordinator/Tutor or on FLO.

 

Postgraduate Nursing PEP Topics

Topic ID Topic Name Coordinator Contact PEP Requirements
NURS8707 Nursing Care of Older People with Complex Health Needs (PEP) Associate Professor Lily Xiao

08 8201 3419

lily.xiao@flinders.edu.au

10 days
NURS8722 Clinical Care in Community Nursing (PEP) Ms Claire Verrall

08 8201 3869

claire.verrall@flinders.edu.au

5 x 8 hour clinical placements
NURS8725 Primary Health Care Observational PEP Dr Dean Whitehead

08 8201 3149

dean.whitehead@flinders.edu.au

5 day clinical placement
NURS8732 Diabetes Practicum Ms Pauline Hill

08 8201 7644

pauline.hill@flinders.edu.au

40 hours observational placement
NURS8741 Professional Experience in Resuscitation Across the Lifespan (PEP) Associate Professor Diane Chamberlain

08 8201 3772

di.chamberlain@flinders.edu.au

192 hours
NURS8743 Critical Care Nursing Practice (PEP) Associate Professor Diane Chamberlain

08 8201 3772

di.chamberlain@flinders.edu.au
192 hours
NURS8745 Acute Cardiovascular Care (PEP) Dr Tracey Giles

08 8201 3481

tracey.giles@flinders.edu.au

10 x 8 hour shifts
NURS8748 Acute Care Observational PEP Dr Huiyun Du

 08 8201 2997

 huiyun.du@flinders.edu.au

5 days

NURS8750 Emergency Nursing Practice (PEP) Ms Karen Hammad

08 8201 7686

karen.hammad@flinders.edu.au

24 x 8 hour shifts
NURS8752 Advanced Emergency Nursing Practice (PEP) Ms Karen Hammad

08 8201 7686

karen.hammad@flinders.edu.au

24 x 8 hour shifts
NURS8761 Acute Mental Health Nursing Practice (PEP) Ms Deb O'Kane

08 8201 7962

debra.okane@flinders.edu.au

 200 hours
NURS8823 Clinical Practice for Child and Family Health Nursing Ms Lola Bishop lola.bishop@flinders.edu.au 160 hours
NURS8826 Advanced Clinical Practice for Child and Family Health Nursing Ms Lola Bishop

lola.bishop@flinders.edu.au

60 hours
NURS8829 Paediatric Nursing Practice (PEP) Mrs Amanda Nguyen

08 8201 5992

amanda.nguyen@flinders.edu.au

225 hours
NURS9017 Extended Nursing Practice Ms Didy Button

08 8201 3312

didy.button@flinders.edu.au

200 hours

NURS9027 Diagnostics for the Nurse Practitioner Ms Bridget Henderson

08 8201 3254

bridget.henderson@flinders.edu.au

200 hours
NURS9542 Counselling in Mental Health Nursing Practice (PEP) Mrs Deb O'Kane

08 8201 7962

debra.okane@flinders.edu.au

200 hours

Back to top